Journalist of the Year

At its Jan. 25, 2020 meeting, the JEANC board unanimously voted to allow only one entry per school for both the JEA JOY contest and the JEANC Arnetta Garcin scholarship. 

For a student to compete for the Arnetta Garcin scholarship, the student’s adviser must be a JEANC member. Advisers can join JEANC here.

Advisers nominating students for California Journalist of the Year should direct their nominee to the JEA website for detailed information. There, candidates will find detailed submission information, including:

The deadline for California Journalist of the Year entries is: February 1, 2022.

All portfolios entries must be submitted digitally. For more information, and to submit your entry, visit California Journalist of the Year.

The three highest scoring portfolios from a student whose adviser is a JEANC member will also be considered for JEANC’s Arnetta Garcin Memorial Scholarship. For a student to enter this competition, the student’s adviser must be a JEANC member. To join JEANC or renew your membership, please go here.

  • First place = $1,000
  • Second place = $600
  • Third place = $400

Please contact JEA State Director Mitch Zielger at [email protected] if you have questions.

Activate Search
Journalist of the Year